Amateur Needs Advice

Business By jenajkay Updated 2 Jan 2011 , 6:34pm by Annabakescakes

jenajkay Posted 1 Jan 2011 , 9:10pm
post #1 of 13

I am an amateur cake baker/decorator, and I really enjoy it. I started about three years ago when I became a stay at home mom. All of my cakes, with one exception, have been done for free. They have either been for my son's birthday, parties for friends or their children, or donated for local events or parties for my husband's staff. The exception was a 3 tier wedding cake I did this summer, for which I made $50 after costs. I live in a small town, where it seems that custom cakes are not the norm, and I would like to do cakes a little more often (I have produced about 20 cakes in the past 3 years, roughly one every couple months.). I thought that donating my cakes for parties might generate word of mouth buzz, but this has not been the case. My goal is to create a cake every few weeks, to get paid reasonably for my time, and to improve my skills while providing beautiful custom creations.

So here are my questions:
1. How would you recommend transitioning from doing cakes as favors to actually getting paid for them?
2. Is Facebook an effective option for advertising?

12 replies
tootie0809 Posted 1 Jan 2011 , 9:17pm
post #2 of 13

First, you have to find out if it is legal to sell cakes from your home. If it is, then you need to contact your local Dept. of Food and Agriculture to obtain the proper procedures for getting legal, becoming licensed, etc. That's the first step. Advertising and how to get your name out there are pointless if you are not in a state that licenses home bakeries. Once you have the proper legalities in place, then the next step would be to write a business plan. As for Facebook for advertising, some have had great success with it and some have had zero success.

costumeczar Posted 1 Jan 2011 , 9:19pm
post #3 of 13