My Fav Tool Broke, The Stitching Tool :(

Decorating By ConfectionsCC Updated 31 Dec 2010 , 4:05pm by Kaylani

ConfectionsCC Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 5:58pm
post #1 of 14

Well, the tool has seen better days and will be missed (until I can get ahold of a new one). Problem. I wanted to use it on a hat cake tom!!!! SO, will painstakingly piping every little stitch with RI still give me a great effect on a hat that I am looking for? I want it to look as realistic as possible, but I am worried...anyone have any pictures of hand piping the stitch on a cake? how did it look? I have never done it before, so I am quite nervous! Going to eat an extremely healthy meal and get lots of rest tonight so my hand will be as steady as possible!

13 replies
playingwithsugar Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 6:01pm
post #2 of 14

If you're going to go that far, you might as well use a straight pin and cut the pattern in, instead.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

tiggy2 Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 6:11pm
post #3 of 14

Go to the fabric store and get a tracing wheel, you'll get the same effect.

Loucinda Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 6:38pm
post #4 of 14

Walmart even had the tracing wheel in their fabric dept. I got one there.

Kaylani Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 6:43pm
post #5 of 14

I like the one that I bought in the fabric department a lot better than the one for caking. It is deeper icon_smile.gif

ConfectionsCC Posted 30 Dec 2010 , 3:31pm
post #6 of 14

Oh, and I already have the brim of the hat drying, is it too late to do the stitch pattern in it, or should I make another one? (Due tomorrow, I can figure out a way to support it)

ConfectionsCC Posted 30 Dec 2010 , 6:35pm
post #7 of 14