Black & White Flag Pattern - Lightning Mcqueen Cake

Decorating By t4beatles Updated 30 Dec 2010 , 12:19am by t4beatles

t4beatles Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 1:51am
post #1 of 9

Hello all!

I am going to do a Lightning McQueen cake for my nephew on the 9th.

Here is my question - What are your suggestions to do a black & white checked pattern without using fondant?

I was thinking of edible printed sheets but would need a reference where to get it. I'm not finding this sort of image.

I thought of modeling chocolate but never worked with it before and wondered if it would taste bad after adding the blackn coloring.

Your thoughts?

8 replies
pinkpiggie78 Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 2:30am
post #2 of 9

Why don't you want to use fondant?

t4beatles Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 2:37am
post #3 of 9

I'm still very new to cakes and have only used the store bought fondant... and I don't think it tastes very good.

pinkpiggie78 Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 2:44am
post #4 of 9

I think the easiest thing to do is ice the cake in buttercream and place black fondant squares on the buttercrem. They can always be picked off. As for bad tasting fondant there are plenty of "store bought" brands... michaels's sells Duff fondant which is a version of Fondarific (and that tastes great).

If you are really anti-fondant, you could use a square cookie cutter and make impressions in the BC. Then hand pipe BC in each of the squares. Or you could do FBCTs on little squares of wax paper and place those on the cake. You could also make a stencil and smear the buttercream over that to make the squares.

An edible image would be the easiest option. If you can find a store that sells Lucks stuff, they have them already done for you.

BlueMoon73 Posted 29 Dec 2010 , 3:04am
post #5 of 9

Fondant is really easy to make!! Don't be afraid to try it, I was but now I only use homemade! Tastes great! For black I would use Duff's from Michael's it does taste good. Black is way to hard to make on your own.