Charging A Friend For Cupcakes?

Baking By aces413 Updated 16 Jan 2011 , 5:35pm by aces413

aces413 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aces413 Posted 28 Dec 2010 , 4:50pm
post #1 of 18

Hi everyone,

A friend just asked me what I would charge for 100 cupcakes for her friend's baby shower. So, my friend would be paying, and I'd be making them for her friend's baby shower (I don't know the pregnant person).

Thing is, if I charged her what I would charge anyone else, it would be about $250-$350 (depending on decoration and whether or not I drop the price), which she probably can't afford. I'm just starting out with my cupcake business, so I'd like to get my name out there by doing this for her (and leaving business cards, of course), but 1) I'm not sure I have the space/capability to make this many cupcakes at home, let alone transport them in my small car and 2) I want to make a little money on this without killing myself, but I don't want her to break the bank.

Thoughts? Should I negotiate with her on a lower price? Would it be worth it? And if so, how do you transport $100 cupcakes in a Honda Civic?... icon_razz.gif

17 replies
yums Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yums Posted 28 Dec 2010 , 5:14pm
post #2 of 18

I can't comment on if you have space to do this or how to fit in into a honda- I think only you can determine that. There are many different boxes you can transport in. But for cost- maybe you could charge her just for the cuppies and trade decorations on them for advertisement? It would cost under $40 for me for liners, cakes and icing so I think you can still make money and not charge your friend $350. But you have to answer if that is worthwhile to you.

sugarjones Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarjones Posted 28 Dec 2010 , 5:15pm
post #3 of 18