Cake Height

Decorating By Rainyvv Updated 29 Dec 2010 , 2:12pm by Karen421

Rainyvv Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rainyvv Posted 26 Dec 2010 , 11:31pm
post #1 of 9

I am new to Cake decorating and cake central. Sorry if this has been asked but I couldn't find the answer.

I have been pushed into making some cakes for family and friends and have not had tme to research how tall a cake should be. I found answers on wedding cakes. But I am just making celebration cakes. I have been making them about 4.5 inches high. Is this average? Should they be less than that?

Thanks!

8 replies
brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 26 Dec 2010 , 11:52pm
post #2 of 9

Standard for any cake is bout 4 inches.
You say your being pushed into making cakes for people - if that is literal wording, get a backbone and say no! Or it won't be long before u stop enjoying cakes.
xx

Karen421 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karen421 Posted 27 Dec 2010 , 12:13am
post #3 of 9

Welcome Rainyvv!! and Merry Christmas! I would say standard would be about 4" but you could go 4 1/2 or 5 if added a layer or used thicker filling. icon_smile.gif

Rainyvv Posted 27 Dec 2010 , 12:16am
post #4 of 9

I think I used the wrong word. After my first cake on November It's been going along fast with orders. I'm enjoying it but I didn't know I would be good when I started.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 27 Dec 2010 , 2:15am
post #5 of 9

Did you have any difficulty getting your kitchen licensed so quickly? It's great to be able to ramp up a home business and enjoy that fast start. Or are you giving all these cakes away as gifts?

Rainyvv Posted 27 Dec 2010 , 2:28am
post #6 of 9

lol I don't think it will turn into a business seems to complicated. But if my friends and family want to buy the supplies I need for a cake I will keep this as a hobby. I'll make all the cakes they want. I guess you can call them gifts.