Classes Or Self Taught?

Decorating By dst10spr97 Updated 29 Dec 2010 , 12:38am by FullHouse

dst10spr97 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dst10spr97 Posted 25 Dec 2010 , 5:51pm
post #1 of 31

Has anyone taught themselves the art of cake decorating without the Wilton courses? If so how did you go about it? Books, Videos, or a combination of things?

The reason I ask is because I took the first course and it seems that a lot of what she told us we could have just read the student manual and practiced. I don't know maybe it was just me. I'm still contemplating taking the rest of the series though, the Flowers and Cake design and the Gum Paste and Fondant. Then maybe one day the Master Course.

30 replies
motherofgrace Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
motherofgrace Posted 25 Dec 2010 , 6:08pm
post #2 of 31

I am self taught, with alot of CC and youtube!

cakegirl1973 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegirl1973 Posted 25 Dec 2010 , 6:22pm
post #3 of 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Sweetheart-

Ditto, with the exception of the first Wilton course.

cakegirl1973 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegirl1973 Posted 25 Dec 2010 , 6:23pm
post #4 of 31
Quote:

Ditto, with the exception of the first Wilton course.

Claire138 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Claire138 Posted 25 Dec 2010 , 6:39pm
post #5 of 31

I am self taught without the wilton course.

emiyeric Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emiyeric Posted 25 Dec 2010 , 6:46pm
post #6 of 31