How Do You Prepare Your Pans?

Decorating By YorkieMaMa Updated 27 Dec 2010 , 6:50pm by Mb20fan

YorkieMaMa Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 10:00pm
post #1 of 37

I am fairly new to cake decorating and learned by using Wiltons Cake Release. It works really well, but wonder how each of you prepare your pans. I would like to try another method in case I find something I like better, or run out of Cake Release in the middle of cake baking.

36 replies
-K8memphis Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 10:03pm
post #2 of 37

I just use parchment in the bottom of my pans.

But another pan release that's great is:

Combine equal parts shortening and flour then mix in an equal amount of oil.

So that's equal parts of each. Great stuff.

cupcakesnbuttercream Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 10:33pm
post #3 of 37

Parchment on the bottoms, Crisco on the sides.

-K8memphis Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 11:03pm
post #4 of 37

A thought about that is that cakes can climb better/higher if there's no grease on the sides--you do have to release it with a knife around the edge when it's time to de-pan but...just a thought.

cakeandpartygirl Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 11:21pm
post #5 of 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by -K8memphis

I just use parchment in the bottom of my pans.

But another pan release that's great is:

Combine equal parts shortening and flour then mix in an equal amount of oil.

So that's equal parts of each. Great stuff.

I use it all of the time and it works wonders!!!!!

FlourPots Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 11:30pm
post #6 of 37

I butter (sometimes Crisco) the sides...a little on the bottom so the parchment will stay put...then a little right on top of the parchment.

I won't bake without parchment.

mclaren Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 11:34pm
post #7 of 37

I use parchment at the bottom, butter on the sides, and if I anticipate the cake's gonna rise very high above the rim of the pan, then parchment on the sides too, with extra height to accommodate the rising batter.

leah_s Posted 25 Dec 2010 , 12:15am
post #8 of 37