Writing On Cakes

Decorating By Debbiee Updated 28 Dec 2010 , 5:17pm by CWR41

Debbiee Posted 21 Dec 2010 , 10:53pm
post #1 of 15

I am fairly new at cake decorating. Does anyone have any great tips for writing on cakes. This seems to be the hardest thing for me. Any comments would be appreciated.

14 replies
leah_s Posted 21 Dec 2010 , 11:19pm
post #2 of 15

Best thing ever - tappits.

(google it if you haven't seen them)

Loucinda Posted 21 Dec 2010 , 11:22pm
post #3 of 15

LASER LEVEL - no strings or marks on the cake to have whatever you are using for letters even & straight across the entire cake. I use a cheap battery operated one from Walmart.

sunlover00 Posted 21 Dec 2010 , 11:24pm
post #4 of 15

Hard way: print out what you want to write on the cake and mark lines with pins. Then, imprint the pattern onto your crusted buttercream. Some people use clear gel also.

Easy way: use a cake projector!

Sangriacupcake Posted 21 Dec 2010 , 11:32pm
post #5 of 15

Tappits are so cute, but beautifully hand lettered cakes look so elegant to me. Unfortunately, my hand writing leaves a lot to be desired, so I've been experimenting with different styles and fonts. I made up some "practice" buttercream using just shortening, powdered sugar, and water....several times a week I practice making different flowers, then I practice writing. I'm really improving! The icing can be scraped back into an airtight container and used for many months. I got the idea from Serious Cakes.

There's an old book (now out of print, I believe) called Writing in Icing by Mary Ford. I checked it out of my library and copied some of the pages. It has some helpful info to get you started on the right foot, then gives pages and pages of examples of different styles of writing. Maybe ebay has some copies?

pinkpiggie78 Posted 21 Dec 2010 , 11:35pm
post #6 of 15

I agree with Leah! I also love my cricut cake for lettering...

cakeandpartygirl Posted 22 Dec 2010 , 2:47am
post #7 of 15