Bubbles In Butter Cream After It's On The Cake....

Decorating By tlreetz Updated 19 Dec 2010 , 10:05am by FleurDeCake

tlreetz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tlreetz Posted 18 Dec 2010 , 5:43pm
post #1 of 7

Hello everyone, I have been designing cakes for 16 years and have never had this problem. I ice my cakes with butter cream, smooth them and then they start to form bubbles from the inside out...imagine a large wart or goiter coming out of the side of your cake! icon_redface.gif What on Earth could be causing this?? Like I said, I have never had this happen in all my years! I am using the same ingredients I have always used. I have read that Crisco has changed it's formula....could this be the culprit?? Anyone else experienced this horrible, and very frustrating, anomolie?

6 replies
KathysCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathysCC Posted 19 Dec 2010 , 3:14am
post #2 of 7

I eagerly await advice on this as well. I have had this SAME problem on several of my latest cakes. I thought it was because the cakes were still too cold from the refrigerator when I iced them. I usually don't refrigerate my cakes but started doing it to help when I applied fondant. I have very large bubbles form between the cake and buttercream that seem to grow larger and larger. The worse problem is that even if you "pop" them, the buttercream doesn't seem to want to stick back to the cake. It is definitely a mess and a big problem. Can't wait to hear some opinions on this!

dmo4ab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dmo4ab Posted 19 Dec 2010 , 6:03am
post #3 of 7

I experienced the same myself on my friends wedding cake. I had to drive about an hour and a half with it and once we got there two layers had bubbles! Fortunatley her cake was white BC with sugar crystals, no one I "poped" it no one ever knew. Courios if anyone knows the cause as well.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 19 Dec 2010 , 6:30am
post #4 of 7