Starting Shop-Loans Vs. ?

Business By adventuregal Updated 22 Dec 2010 , 10:35pm by aneal

adventuregal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adventuregal Posted 15 Dec 2010 , 2:39am
post #1 of 20

I've been running my internet and delivery business with alot of success and am now wanting to look into getting a retail shop. My question is who out there got loans for their shop? Is it possible to open without? Will I need to purchase all my equiptment myself? Oven, freezer, etc, etc...I'm new to the idea so any comments would be great! icon_smile.gif

19 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Dec 2010 , 2:51am
post #2 of 20

You either get a loan or you save up the entire amount that you need or you hit up a rich relative or you buy that winning lottery ticket.

Not sure what you mean by do you have to buy all of the equipmetn "yourself"? icon_confused.gif (Who else would buy it?) You can lease equipment but in my experience, banks are not thrilled with that option because they have nothing to put a lien against.

adventuregal Posted 15 Dec 2010 , 2:58am
post #3 of 20

I meant how likely is it to move into a retail space thats already a bakery. Do most people do this? Or is it more likely to buy a retail space and turn it into a bakery (by buying the equiptment yourself -what I meant-hehe)

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Dec 2010 , 3:21am
post #4 of 20

Ohhhhhhhh!! icon_lol.gif

can't say which would be cheaper, but I can say getting one already set up is easier. With an empty box storefront, you have build out costs and buying the equipment and paying for installation. With getting one already set up, you'd need to balance the higher cost for a turn-key operation compared to what you'd spend to do it yourself.

If money was no object, I'd go with the turn-key! icon_rolleyes.gif

adventuregal Posted 15 Dec 2010 , 3:25am
post #5 of 20