Frustrated With Silicone Lace Molds

Decorating By cakedoff Updated 30 Aug 2013 , 11:26pm by MBalaska

cakedoff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedoff Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 6:48pm
post #1 of 20

I've been doing cakes for several years now, and for some reason haven't had much call for lace. Recently, Decorate the Cake had a Black Friday sale on their lace molds and I bit the bullet and bought 5 of them. I have had minimal success using them. What am I doing wrong? I read somewhere that the fondant is rolled out, pressed into the bottom mold, the top piece is applied and then gently but firmly rolled from the center out. I've gotten sloppy results with all five of the molds. No matter how carefully I press the fondant into the bottom and roll, the molds shift and the impression either ends up with holes, remains too thick or slides and destroys the pattern. Very frustrated and irritated at the cost of these things (even on sale)
HELP! icon_cry.gificon_cry.gificon_cry.gif

19 replies
tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 6:58pm
post #2 of 20

Are they double sided molds?
Edna

cakedoff Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 7:00pm
post #3 of 20

Hi, Edna! Yes they are.

tonedna Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 7:04pm
post #4 of 20

Roll the gumpaste in a flat surface, just like if you where going to do any cutout.
Then place the gumpaste on the mold and press it with your hands. Take the top part
of the lace and place it on to of the gumpaste and use a rolling pin to help you press.
If the gumpaste is good quality it shpuld break pretty easy, so pull the excess pieces of
gumapste with the top part still holding the gumpaste.
The take the top press how and push the excess gumpaste to the inside of the mold to
clean the edges.

Edna icon_smile.gif

cakedoff Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 7:11pm
post #5 of 20

What you have described is what I have done. I'm using Satin Ice. The molds are VERY soft...could that be why this is happening?