Need Short-Cuts & Hints To Speed Up Decorating

Decorating By cakes4ck Updated 9 Dec 2010 , 5:24pm by LillyCakes

cakes4ck Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakes4ck Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 3:55pm
post #1 of 14

I have been decorating cakes now for 6 years. I have pretty much self-taught. This past summer I took a couple of the Wilton classes in hopes of learning some short cuts or techniques to make my cakes quicker and better. Unfortunately, I didn't come away with too many. I did however, learn to make some flowers I had never made before. Anyhow, I know it is taking me too long to do a cake. I love to play with fondant and usually incorporate some into the design. This past weekend I did a 2 tier cake with 2 layers each of 12" square and 8" square. The baking time alone was 3 hours as I only have one pan of each. However, during this time, I did make most of my icing (similar to indydebi's) for the cake. The fondant (mff)was made earlier in the day and took about an hour in all. Then it had to rest overnight. Cakes went in the freezer. When I got home from work the next day, I pulled them out, leveled and began to decorate. After about 6 more hours of work, I was mostly finished except for waiting on the fondant bow to dry. The next morning worked another hour or 2 just making final touches and more fondant as I broke the bow. So, in all I figure I had 12 hours in the cake. Now, this was for a gift so $ wasn't a factor. But, at this rate I would have to sell this cake for $150 (time + supplies). I live in a rural area, and people don't pay that kind of $ even though it may be worth it.