Chocolate Cake Didnt Turn Out The Way I Thought It Would :(

Decorating By elysa Updated 6 Dec 2010 , 4:34pm by elysa

elysa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elysa Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 2:10pm
post #1 of 19

There is this chocolate and strawberry cake recipe ive had my eye on for a while now and i thought it would be perfect to make for my friends birthday, as it feeds 60 people and she loves chocolate and strawberry.
Here is a link to the recipe: http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/21602/rich+chocolate+and+strawberry+cake

I am pretty new to cooking but i do love a challenge which is why i chose this cake.

Here is a picture of my cake on the link below, it looked great until i cut it open! I am planning on doing the whole cake including the chocolate panels if i can be sure it will turn out good.
http://s1217.photobucket.com/albums/dd381/elysa-24/

I made a trial cake first in a round tin and thank god i did because it turned out very dense, and not what i expected at all.
Could it be the type of chocolate i used? It was just a home brand label, the cake didn't taste the greatest, it was like the mixture had gone hard and chewy. To me, it looked more like a slice.
I was thinking maybe its the way the cakes supposed to be, but im not sure.
Another thing i did was follow the oven instructions for the two cakes. i left the cake in there fo about 45 mins then put a skewer in it which came out clean so i took the cake out. Could the cake be so dense because it was in the oven for too long?

If anyone knows why my cake turned out this way please let me know!

Also if you have any suggestions on a different type of chocolate cake i could use with the same recipe (to replace the cake part of the recipe) that would be great. icon_smile.gif

Thank you!

18 replies
sweetpea223 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetpea223 Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 2:42pm
post #2 of 19