I Know "there Are No Dumb Questions" But...

Decorating By CrescentMoon Updated 6 Dec 2010 , 6:10pm by CrescentMoon

CrescentMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CrescentMoon Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 1:59pm
post #1 of 17

I feel realy stupid for not knowing this. I am looking at the Wilton serving guide and it shows that a 6" (or any size for that matter) is 2 layers. Is that 2 layers meaning one pan is used and the cake is cut in two creating two layers, or does it mean 2 pans are used and each whole cake is concsdered a layer? Since the heigt of the serving is 2" and my pans are two inches, I'm guessing they mean just one cake layer....correct?

16 replies
bakencake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakencake Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 2:09pm
post #2 of 17

Technically each layer is supposed to be 2" thick. Im not really technical but to answer your question yes. I usually buy 2 pans fill and bake them then stack them. I also bought a 3" thick cake pan. this pan lets me bake one thick cake that i can cut and fill instead of doing 2 pans. hth.

greengyrl26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
greengyrl26 Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 2:19pm
post #3 of 17

Standard serving sizes are 4" tall (excluding sheet cakes). Some people use 2, 2" layers per tier, some use 4, 1" layers per tier. I love frosting, so I use 4, 1" layers to get in all the frosting I can! icon_wink.gif

CrescentMoon Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 2:35pm
post #4 of 17

so if I use 2 - 2" high pans, tort each cake to make 4 layers, then refering to my serving size chart (using a 6" pan again just for refrence) then that cake would yield 12 servings, not 24....? I want to make sure I am not giving cake away for free.

greengyrl26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
greengyrl26 Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 2:48pm
post #5 of 17

Yes. A 6" round cake, that is 4" high, serves 12. icon_wink.gif

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 3:21pm
post #6 of 17