Icing And Cookie Flavorings ?'s

Baking By KrisCraft Updated 28 Sep 2011 , 1:24am by GeminiRJ

KrisCraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KrisCraft Posted 2 Dec 2010 , 10:49pm
post #1 of 9

I use mostly vanilla and almond flavorings for my meringue powder buttercream icing to glaze my cookies , and vanilla and butter flavorings for my sugar cookies.. pretty simple no one in the house is a chocolate lover and I am the only lemon lover, so I stick to the basics for all my cookies. I am just a hobby baker, baking for gifts for friends and neighbors for fun.
I mostly buy Wilton flavorings with my Michaels or Joanns coupons.. I use clear vanilla for icing and Kirkland (Costco) brand vanilla for cookies.
I am wondering if there is a better quality brand/flavor I should check out? I have 3 cake supply stores within 20 minutes of my home and they sell other brands. Is there a difference?
Thank you to all the wonderful advice I get on this forum and over at karenscookies.net cookiesrus forum! Amazing talented people out there!
Kris

8 replies
Kandis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kandis Posted 2 Dec 2010 , 11:39pm
post #2 of 9

I always use Wilton Butter flavoring, Tones Almond extract and I have used several of Lorann flavorings! I always wonder if there are better ones out there too!

KrisCraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KrisCraft Posted 2 Dec 2010 , 11:47pm
post #3 of 9

I saw a post somewhere about princess bakery emulsion and cake bouquet... what flavors and brands are those?

writersblock15 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
writersblock15 Posted 3 Dec 2010 , 12:54am
post #4 of 9

I like Lorann. They have a large selection of good quality extracts, oils, and flavorings. If you can't find it locally, you can buy from their website

https://www.lorannoils.com/

verono Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
verono Posted 3 Dec 2010 , 12:59am
post #5 of 9

I use Spices etc.

TracyLH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TracyLH Posted 5 Dec 2010 , 5:09am