Rocket Cake, Decorations, How Tos.

Decorating By sweetpea3829 Updated 2 Dec 2010 , 10:22pm by sweetpea3829

sweetpea3829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetpea3829 Posted 2 Dec 2010 , 8:45pm
post #1 of 10

Ok...I'm sure there are plenty of posts but I just don't have time to sort through them so I'm hoping somebody can help.

I am making a vertical rocket ship cake for my son's 4th birthday. I intend to cover the rocket itself with red fondant and add fins, decorations, etc.

So...my history with MMF is not great. I don't know what it is, but everytime I make it, I end up with double bubble gum cake. You know what I mean? That bubble gum that's SO soft. My MMF always ends up like that...and it's not fun to eat cake with bubble gum on top.

Moreover, my fondant tends to degrade after just a day or so.

Obviously, I am a beginner at this...novice at best. But, I enjoy creating 3D cakes for the kids, even if they are less than perfect.

So...any suggestions for the fondant? I've made it days ahead and the day of and still not had much success with it.

I'm also well aware that red fondant is hard to achieve. I use Wilton Gel coloring and have no taste red and christmas red. Any suggestions?

And how about the hard decorations? Last year, I made a firetruck cake for my son and I made a ladder out of fondant...it dried alright, but it took forever and then, when it broke and I attempted to create another one, it never really dried well. I was thinking pastillage but I'd like it to be edible. Any suggestions?

Thanks for any suggestions and advice...it's much appreciated. This is a busy time of year for us..we have his birthday, my daughter's birthday and then Christmas (which we celebrate as Jesus' birthday complete with a six layer rainbow cake...this year with a star inside, perhaps). Time is limited for me and I appreciate any help doled out. Thanks again!

--Crystal

9 replies
imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile