Marzipan Or Fondant For Models On Cake?? Need Help Urgently!

Decorating By heartcandy Updated 1 Dec 2010 , 11:06am by brincess_b

heartcandy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heartcandy Posted 1 Dec 2010 , 9:58am
post #1 of 4

It's almost my boyfriends birthday and I want to surprise him with a birthday cake! I've been looking up on the net for ages on what to use to make figures on the cake and I decided to try marshmallow fondant.
I made my own MMF a few days ago and yesterday I tried to mould the fondant into a figure, but it just wouldn't stand up! It kept falling over and since I've never worked with fondant before, I was very slow with shaping it and it kept drying out there were cracks everywhere.. in the end I got very frustrated and decided just to leave it.

I did more research and found out that marzipan is more ideal for making figures and models for cake decoration so today I went out and bought a small pack of marzipan.

I'm afraid to start on it since I read on-line that marzipan also dries out very fast and it cracks a lot.. so I would like to know if there is any way to prevent it from cracking and drying out as you work with it because I'm actually running out of time to make the figure and I still have yet to make the actual cake!

The figure I am making is something quite detailed so I would like to know what is type I should use for this type of thing, should I continue with fondant or use marzipan? I found someone who made a detailed figure on a cake and I would like to be able to make something as detailed too!

Here are some pictures of that cake below:

The Result of the cake:

Also another question is how do I colour marzipan/fondant? I've read a few posts on here that you should use food gels or powder to colour it but I cannot find any here in the shops and I only have food colouring.. Would mixing voldka with water based food colouring work? Or will it make the marzipan/fondant all gooey and runny still??