Fired For The First Time!

Lounge By kaseynh Updated 3 Dec 2010 , 2:44am by retaunton

kaseynh Posted 24 Nov 2010 , 4:35pm
post #1 of 32

I have been working at this office for the last 5 1/2 years. I rarely called in sick. I live with chronic pain and I will admit it has affected my job performance over the last year or so. I did submit a request along with documentation from my doctor asking for some accommodation which was approved.
In the last two months I was dropped from full-time to part-time. On Monday evening after work, I was let go. This is very frustrating for me as I have always worked all my life since the age of 14. I feel very ashamed of being let go.
In one respect I am very happy to be free of all the daily drama that is there. That in itself is very stressful. But in another I am really going to miss interacting with the public. I am not able to start another job due to complications of chronic pain. I have such a difficult time adapting to change.
Does anyone have any suggestions for me? I started my cake business and have had a few orders. I have worked like crazy to get my name out there. I just need to find a way to be motivated.

Thanks for listening!

31 replies
-K8memphis Posted 24 Nov 2010 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 32

Watch out for depression. It's really a blow to get canned. I changed jobs due to a workmans comp issue that got so complicated. So new job and for training on the new job the new people would feed me fish rather than show me how to fish--y'know that old adage? They were patronizing and I said to a co-worker, "blablabla I'm gonna find another jobbecause this one is impossible" is what I meant.

So big pow wow with boss--did I really say that--yes I did but...no buts mbubye. Oooh I was pissed! I felt ashamed too. Was not a good fit. It was a real estate office and I everytime I see their signs in someone's yard I think about it. grr