How Long Do You Think It Will Take To Make A Cake Like This?

Decorating By deliciabale Updated 24 Nov 2010 , 2:59am by madgeowens

deliciabale Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deliciabale Posted 23 Nov 2010 , 4:57pm
post #1 of 12

I am kind of new to making bigger cakes. How long do you think it will take to make a cake like this and decorate it? It is for a project and I have 2 hours one day and another 2 the next day. Also I will use ready to roll icing and colour it.

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1236526

11 replies
Sorelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sorelle Posted 23 Nov 2010 , 5:14pm
post #2 of 12

This looks like it would go pretty quickly. Two hours for baking and two hours for decorating. The most time consuming would be coloring the fondant, black and that deep pink will take some time. If you could find an assistant for coloring I think it's doable.

Crazboutcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazboutcakes Posted 23 Nov 2010 , 5:20pm
post #3 of 12

I agree, it seems the hardess part would be the fondant bow tomake sure it sets is going to take the longest, if it does not harden a little it will collaps. I would do that first thing and possibly cut the stripes (but they can be done later too) but after that it would be a piece of cake... no pun inteaded lol icon_smile.gif

cricket0616 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cricket0616 Posted 23 Nov 2010 , 5:23pm
post #4 of 12

I think it depends on how experience you are with working with fondant. The first time I did a cake like that it took me alot longer than four hours. If you can color your fondant ahead of time than it might work. Adding the zebra stripes took longer than I anticipated, but keep in mind I do this as a hobby.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 23 Nov 2010 , 5:24pm
post #5 of 12