Just Plain Ashamed!

Decorating By HobbyCaker Updated 19 Nov 2010 , 4:06pm by sweetheart6710

HobbyCaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HobbyCaker Posted 19 Nov 2010 , 3:24am
post #1 of 11

I decorated one of "those" cakes today, the kind you just want to chunk in the garbage.

I work in a store bakery with no air brush, edible images or fondant work. I do everything in butter cream by hand. Thank goodness for FBCT's.

So today, after decorating 252 regular cupcakes for an event, 12 Jumbo cupcakes, 4- 1/4 sheet cakes, 1- 1/2 sheet cake and a 8"- 2 layer cake for orders, I needed to decorate a 1/4 sheet for our case, OMG, if this wasn't the worse cake I have every decorated in my life. I was sooooo tired, I iced it, threw on some jumbo sprinkes, did the shell border and wrote Happy Birthday (in my very tired handwriting) on it and called it a day. But now I am feeling really ashamed of that cake. I can't post pictures (since it was for the store) but just picture it in your head, U G L Y! I take pride in my work, and this one I am not so proud of.

Does anyone else ever have one of those days, and one of those cakes?

I know someone will buy it, but wow I feel bad. Just needed to get it off my chest with other decorators who might understand.

10 replies
NerdyGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NerdyGirl Posted 19 Nov 2010 , 3:28am
post #2 of 11

I did a castle cake (with the plastic castle pieces) for a little girl's birthday. She wanted it to be a "candy castle". Wow. I hated that cake. However, the little one was thrilled to pieces. So, I can't be too upset. But I did tell her mom that next time, no plastic!

stsapph Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stsapph Posted 19 Nov 2010 , 3:36am
post #3 of 11