Last Minute Orders

Business By beesweetcakes Updated 22 Nov 2010 , 3:44pm by cakesdivine

beesweetcakes Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 11:18am
post #1 of 13

I was just wondering if any of you accept last minute orders and if you do, do you add a rush fee? I have received a couple of last minute orders. I wasn't sure if I should add a rush fee and if so what is the norm. I am very new to this. I can't go by what is normal for my area. I live on a military installation outside of the US. Any suggestion will be appreciated.

12 replies
Ambar2 Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 11:45am
post #2 of 13

I add ten dollars to whatever my regular price would be, but thats me I live in Puerto Rico, people down here dont make much...

Jenn2179 Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 12:08pm
post #3 of 13

I don't usually add a rush fee because I won't take the order if I don't have the time. If I do have the time then it's an extra order I didn't have before.

lapazlady Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 12:15pm
post #4 of 13

If I have the time, I take the order. It's an order (income) I wouldn't have had otherwise.

aligotmatt Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 12:56pm
post #5 of 13

If I have time to take an order, I just take it, if I don't, I don't. So I don't add an extra fee. If someone called me on Friday for a Saturday wedding, no rush fee would make that cake look good if I had to start baking right then.

The only time I *may* add any type of fee for shorter notice is if it meant I had to pay higher shipping to have fondant or something in time for them.

Kiddiekakes Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 1:12pm
post #6 of 13

I also don't add a rush fee.I wish I could but if I can take the order I do and consider it an extra cake I didn't have before.

jenmat Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 1:14pm
post #7 of 13

I tried a rush fee, but every time I tried to add it on, the customer would go somewhere else. So if I can do it and do it well, I will, but most of the time, I'm not going to knock myself out.