To Say Or Not To Say To A Client: I Am A Home Baker

Business By Dreme Updated 18 Nov 2010 , 12:49am by CWR41

Dreme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dreme Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 8:01pm
post #1 of 19

I have noticed that the majority of my clients think I have a storefront. People seemed shocked when I try and explain to them that I do not have one and that I'm actually home based. Its getting to a point where some people seem irritated that they can't just come by. I wont give out my address to a client unless I know that they are serious and put money down on an order.

How do you as a home baker handle this? Should I put this on my website somewhere? Will saying this upfront deter some clients?

18 replies
Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 8:15pm
post #2 of 19

I do, just because I don't want them disappointed I don't have a storefront....on the other hand, I also say "licensed and insured" and that usually makes them feel just fine about it.

tarheelgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tarheelgirl Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 8:21pm
post #3 of 19

I do say and do have listed right on my website that I am a licensed, inspected, insured home based bakery. Some do look surprised but most never have a problem with it. I've had couples actually tell me that they prefer it.

jenmat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenmat Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 8:32pm
post #4 of 19

I find its all about how your present yourself. I don't call it my bakery. I call it my "studio."
Makes people both understand how it can be in your home and also impress them with your implication that their cake is made by an artist.

I actually have pictures of the bakery right on my site, so if they are wondering what it entails to have a home baking studio, all they have to do is pay attention.