Fondant

Decorating By ILOVETOBAKE4life Updated 16 Nov 2010 , 6:26pm by dmo4ab

ILOVETOBAKE4life Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 1:51pm
post #1 of 9

hey everyone im new in baking cakes with fondant. What are some kinds of fondant. When they are on cakes can you eat them? I was told they taste bad. What you need to do to make them taste good. Any recipe on homemade fondant? How to storage it? Anything else i need to know about fondant?

8 replies
dmo4ab Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 2:18pm
post #2 of 9

Personally, I only use Marshmallow Fondant. There are several good recipies here on this site. It's easy to make, much cheaper than pre-made fondants, and taste pretty good. I always store it air tight in a freezer bag at room temp.
However, if this is your first time working with fondant, it would probably be a good idea to buy a small package of pre-made so that you can get used to what the texture should be and how it works.

momto2pottsy Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 2:25pm
post #3 of 9

Welcome to Cake Central! This site will become invaluable (and addictive) to you! I like to use marshmallow fondant personally. It tastes grea and is quick and easy to make! I don't know how to post a link so go to the recipe section and you'll find many. It is completely edible, however some people don't like the taste/texture and will peel it off the cake. There are many articles and forums on here that will give you tips and advice on how to work with fondant so just start reading up on it! That's what I did and I have greatly improved as a baker and decorator as a result! To flavour fondant I use extracts or LorAnn's oils. I also read a blog where someone uses jello powder to flavour/colour mmf; she just stirs them into the melted marshmallows. As for storing the mmf, I wrap it in saran wrap and place it in a ziploc bag and leave it on the counter.

ILOVETOBAKE4life Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 2:26pm
post #4 of 9

Thanks! I will see if i can find Marshmellow fondant.

dellababe Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 2:31pm