Fondant Was So Hard Bride Could Not Cut The Cake?

Decorating By CakeDiva101 Updated 16 Nov 2010 , 11:18pm by Navyempress

CakeDiva101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva101 Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 12:44am
post #1 of 25

Ok, so, today one of my clients (not a cake client) ask me if I had seen on one of those judge type of TV shows ( like judge Judy but some other one) that this bride was suing the baker that made her wedding cake because the fondant covering the cake was so hard she could not cut it icon_eek.gif! I have never heard of this but I was wondering if any of you have. I'm not an expert on fondant by all means but I have fondant covered cakes sitting out for several days and they were just fine. So, is this possible? What could have happened?

I appreciate any info on this icon_smile.gif

24 replies
cownsj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cownsj Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 12:59am
post #2 of 25

I never heard of it either. I wonder if they used gumpaste or pastillage instead? Of maybe it was a dummy cake and they forgot? lol I have no idea.

MacsMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MacsMom Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 12:59am
post #3 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by CakeDiva101

Ok, so, today one of my clients (not a cake client) ask me if I had seen on one of those judge type of TV shows ( like judge Judy but some other one) that this bride was suing the baker that made her wedding cake because the fondant covering the cake was so hard she could not cut it icon_eek.gif! I have never heard of this but I was wondering if any of you have. I'm not an expert on fondant by all means but I have fondant covered cakes sitting out for several days and they were just fine. So, is this possible? What could have happened?

I appreciate any info on this icon_smile.gif

Satin Ice can get quite hard, but it's still sliceable. I wonder if it was a chocolate fondant with too much chocolate and colder than room temp?

DSmo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile