Newbie Here

Decorating By TexasPanther Updated 15 Nov 2010 , 10:14am by indydebi

TexasPanther Posted 13 Nov 2010 , 5:18pm
post #1 of 5

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to cake decorating. Anyone have any advice for a newbie? I've never done this so I'm nervous and have no idea where to start. I take that back...I've obviously started in the right place....I'm here with you very talented ladies. : )

I have gone to Hobby Lobby and purchased the Wilton student kit and book and am reading up on it while awwwwwing over all the beatiful cakes here.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

4 replies
Jamielc Posted 13 Nov 2010 , 5:49pm
post #2 of 5

Read, research, take notes. This site is a wealth of information; read as much as you can stand, take a break, and then read some more! There are two kinds of research: researching for knowledge, how-to's and so forth, and then researching for ideas. Both can also be done on this site. Get yourself a binder and some lined paper and take notes on what you're reading/researching. Or even copy and paste ideas and information into a Microsoft Word document and print them off to put in a folder or binder. I've got a binder set up with sections for recipes, border techniques, gumpaste tutorials, pan and serving size guidelines, etc.