Making A Bow

Decorating By michellem79 Updated 15 Nov 2010 , 2:17am by icer101

michellem79 Posted 13 Nov 2010 , 7:13am
post #1 of 6

Hello everyone! I am really new to caking and today I got my first big cake order. It is for a quinceanera, so basically it looks a wedding cake! She wants me to do a bow on the second tier (of 3) and have it drape down over the first tier. My first problem is that I have never made a bow before. Does anyone have any great tutorials for me to check out? Second is kind of an assembly question. I will be traveling with the cake unassembled and will stack them when I get to the venue. Should I bring a dowel for the center and put it in after stacking the cakes? Or do I skip this step since I won't be traveling with it stacked? How do I handle putting the bow on since essentially it will be on two tiers of the cake? I know I'm asking a lot of questions but I know that everyone here is great at helping each other out!
Here is a link of a picture posted on this site that I am using as inspiration, so you can see what I am hoping to achieve. The only difference is that I will also have a ribbon going around the cake and behind the bow. Thanks for any help you guys can offer!

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=627623

5 replies
brincess_b Posted 13 Nov 2010 , 9:57am
post #2 of 6

i dont have the links to tutorials handy - but for that kind of bow, its not difficult. im sure someone else will post one for you icon_smile.gif

you wont need a centre dowel. but i would have the supporting dowels already in the bottom cake.

if you dry the bow on a similar shaped surface, then it would sit nicely on the cake, and you can dry it with a bit of shape, use clingfilm to add movement to the ribbon.
xx

bakingatthebeach Posted 14 Nov 2010 , 11:23pm
post #3 of 6