Will A Strip Of Fondant Stick To Bc Around The Edge Of Cake?

Decorating By borerunner42 Updated 12 Nov 2010 , 4:58am by borerunner42

borerunner42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
borerunner42 Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 1:26pm
post #1 of 8

Hello.
I have a boys castle cake to make this weekend. I am not very experienced with Fondant yet at all! My plan was to ice it in BC then add a few Fondant details. For instance, a strip of Fondant with the square "notches" along the top edges of the cake & towers to give it that Medieval look. I am wondering if that would stay put or just end up sliding down the BC cake? Is there a way to secure it, like with gum glue? Or would that work on top of BC? Any advice about this or castle cakes would be so appreciated!

7 replies
tracycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracycakes Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 1:42pm
post #2 of 8

Absolutely it will. I make buttercream cake with fondant accents all of the time. I just put a little water on the fondant piece and stick it on. Gum glue or even buttercream will work also.

debster Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debster Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 1:49pm
post #3 of 8

Yep just like tracycakes said, I do buttercream cakes with fondant accents ALL the time. Enjoy!!!! You can add circles and stripes that way also , just like a border.

Mb20fan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mb20fan Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 2:01pm
post #4 of 8

Never tried applying fondant to BC with just water, I've always used candy melts or melted chocolate. I may have to try water as that would be way easier.

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 4:10pm
post #5 of 8

Water for me too. The fondant is so high in sugar that the water just makes it sticky.

mareg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mareg Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 4:24pm
post #6 of 8