Please Help! I Think I'm Having A Panic Attack - Seriously!

Decorating By auntbeesbaking Updated 11 Nov 2010 , 9:33pm by auntbeesbaking

auntbeesbaking Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 1:25am
post #1 of 8

I know this is silly but I truly think I'm having a panic attack over a cake! It's silly but I think I am! I think I know what I want but I don't know how to get it and I'm not an artist - just a "coloring book" cake person so I need advise please! Maybe if I can get this figured out, my heart will stop racing and feeling like it's going to come through my chest!

I want to do a jungle them cake for a 2nd birthday. His first birthday was a 3 tiered round cake. So, I want a different shape and thought since his mom will be transporting it and I won't be delivering it, I would do a 11" x 15" sheet cake. I thought I would make it 2 layers (she wants it 1/s choc and 1/2 yellow) for 16 adults and 6 kids (they're having company from out of state so leftovers would be okay).

I thought I'd put 6 animals around the cake (zebra, giraffe, monkey, hippo, elephant and tiger) and have leaves and trees interspersed amongst the animals. My dilema is I don't know what to do on the top of the cake. If the sides look jungle-like, than what do I do about the top? And what colors? Is that where I just write happy birthday and have tree leaves go over the sides to the top?

I would be so grateful for any help. I need to bake it tonight and decorate it tomorrow.

auntbeesbaking!

7 replies
cakesrock Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 1:49am
post #2 of 8

What about a zebra or leopard print pattern?

Marla84 Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 1:52am
post #3 of 8

Have you looked in the galleries? I did a search for jungle sheet cakes and came up with a few cute ones. It looks like most have the animals on top and then use the sides for the vine or other border. Here's one http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1569319

jammjenks Posted 11 Nov 2010 , 2:19am
post #4 of 8

Here's an idea: