Red Velvet "was A Bit Dry"

Baking By Normita Updated 9 Nov 2010 , 2:35am by Normita

Normita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Normita Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 12:20am
post #1 of 6

Hi everybody!!

I mainly use doctored cake mixes using primarily the WASC and its variations and I get nothing but compliments on my cakes. I have used the Saras red velvet Tweaked from this site which is a scratch recipe. The cupcakes are good and moist but when I made the cake for someone this past weekend they said it was "a bit dry". I dont know what to do, as I find the red velvet just different in texture from my other cakes. I like it but I dont want people to say "their a bit dry"

Any suggestions on how to make it better?? Or any other recipes...I didnt care for Cakemans RV as that is another scratch recipe I have tried.

Thanks icon_smile.gif

5 replies
blissfulbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blissfulbaker Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 12:54am
post #2 of 6

I am a scratch and box baker. I don't like dealing with all the food color that is needed with RV so I use box mixes for that type of cake. I use DH RV cake mix. I add an extra egg and subsitute buttermilk for the water. I also add 1T of cocoa powder. About 10 minutes after taking the cake out of the oven, I cover it with plastic wrap (do not remove it from the pan) and put it in the fridge or freezer. Now I know many CC's say that putting a cake in the fridge is a no no, but I was trained by Collette Peters and that is what I was told to do. It is my understanding that by covering it with plastic wrap keeps the moisture from evaporating from the cake. Also, putting the warm cake in the fridge causes condensation, it is that condensation that keeps a cake moist.