To Carry On Or Not?

Decorating By heroes Updated 11 Nov 2010 , 5:29am by HowCoolGomo1

heroes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heroes Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 10:45am
post #1 of 13

I love decorating cakes, Ive only been doing it for a while, say about a year, I just dont know whether to carry on or not, the reason is, I see on all the photo's that are on cc and they are fantastic, and dont know if im good enough to carry on, my phone has only rang twice over the last 4 months for a cake order, so do I give up now or carry on? Feeling very unsure of myself today,

Karen xx

12 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 10:55am
post #2 of 13

ok, if this is a ploy to get people to tell you how great your cakes look, then it's probably going to work because your cakes look great. icon_biggrin.gif

I've been making cakes for 30 years and i STILL look at some of the cakes on here .... Edna's, Thahn Thahn's, costumeczar, and many many others that I'm insulting by omitting their name from this list ..... and I just think, "Holy cow, Deb, you have some nerve calling yourself a cake decorator compared to these people!" icon_surprised.gif

A year is not a long time and all of us are learning new ideas and techniques every single day.

You're not a Colette Peters or a Norm Davis yet ... but then, nobody but Colette and Norm are!! thumbs_up.gif

AbouttheCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AbouttheCake Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 10:55am
post #3 of 13

If you still like it then by all means carry on. We didn't get better overnight nor did our businesses blossom overnight. It can take a good 3 or more years to get "super busy". Just keep plugging along and playing with your icing and get better and better (I haven't seen your photos so I don't know what your work is like...this is a general statement.)

Those fantastic cakes didn't pop out of the decorators in the first year...maybe a couple of them, but not in general.

Carry on!