I Hate You Mr. Vanilla Cupcake!!!!

Baking By texastj Updated 7 Nov 2010 , 4:20pm by Melvira

texastj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
texastj Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 7:40pm
post #1 of 21

You're either have a gummy top, tough texture, peel away from your liner, beautiful dome only while in the oven then you sink in the middle once out, bland taste, or just missing that special something.  Why do I put up with you, especially when chocolate taste SOOOOO much better?

P.S.  You may have won these battles, but I'm gonna win the war!  I will not give up without a fight!   

BTW, I call you Mister, because only a man could be this difficult to work with ;p

Stats:
WIN - 0 
LOSS - 6

*just venting*  

20 replies
blissfulbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blissfulbaker Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 8:07pm
post #2 of 21

I am a scratch and box baker, Trader Joes has a great vanilla box mix. Give it a try. They also have a new line of chocolate and yellow box mixes. I have only tried the chocolate and it is amazing.

ILoveDaffodils Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ILoveDaffodils Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 8:20pm
post #3 of 21

I feel your vanilla cupcake pain icon_sad.gif . I have had the same experiences. I've tried scratch and box and each one seems to have a different problem. I love a good vanilla cupcake so I am continuing the search. I will try Trader Joe's next.

jade8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jade8 Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 8:36pm
post #4 of 21

I agree with everything you stated. I have yet to find a recipe I am happy with.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 9:00pm
post #5 of 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by texastj

BTW, I call you Mister, because only a man could be this difficult to work with ;p  

icon_lol.gif This cracked me up!

Melvira Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melvira Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 9:18pm
post #6 of 21