When Did You Feel Ready To Make Wedding Cakes?

Decorating By pinkjacs Updated 3 Oct 2015 , 6:54pm by Magda_MI

pinkjacs Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 7:52am
post #1 of 32

I have been asked to do a few wedding cakes next yeah. Tbh i love the idea but the would need to be perfect and i am still new to this hand so not sure my skills are there yet.
When did you know the time was right or did you just jump right in?

31 replies
heroes Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 10:16am
post #2 of 32

My personal opinion is when you feel ready. Ive taken a look at your pics and they look fab so I would say give it a go. I was asked to do a wedding fayre in January, everyone is putting pressure on me to do it but I dont personally feel ready for it, I have been asked to make a wedding cake next may for a friend and I have said yes as its a while away and feel that If I have practice runs then it should turn out ok. I would give it a go if I was you your cakes are very good already.
Karen x

LindaF144a Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 11:42am
post #3 of 32

I was ready when the first person asked me to do it. I had already done a few fondant cakes, and the person asking was a family friend. I did a ton of research here on CC and used the SPS system to support it. We sat down together and looked a wedding cakes online for inspiration. After that I just didn't think of the enormity of what I committed to doing, I just did it. The result is in my photo section.