What Type Of Fondant Do You Use?

Decorating By wannabe_cake_maker Updated 5 Nov 2010 , 8:36pm by jo3d33

wannabe_cake_maker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wannabe_cake_maker Posted 3 Nov 2010 , 6:55pm
post #1 of 18

I thought I'd do a little poll on here to see what type of fondant everyone on here uses for their cakes. I see alot of comments about satin ice being used because it is easy to work with but fondarific (for example) tastes better but is hard to work with.

Shouldn't we all be going with something that tastes good? I am fairly new at cake decorating so not sure how the businesses do it. Anyways, please pick one option below. Sorry If I forgot any.

17 replies
snowshoe1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowshoe1 Posted 3 Nov 2010 , 11:43pm
post #2 of 18

We only use Satin Ice. If my shop could afford Uster I'd go with that - a dream to work with.

yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 3 Nov 2010 , 11:51pm
post #3 of 18

I use Fondariffic, but I'm thinking of trying Fonx. Fondariffic is $17.99 / 2 lbs at my local cake shop. I found Fondx 10lb bucket for $28.00 and I've heard great things about it. You can't beat $28 for 10 lbs....

MissFluff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissFluff Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 12:18am
post #4 of 18

Until I get brave enough to try making my own I am using Satin Ice. I'd be willing to try the Duff if I had a coupon from Michael's. I might also try the sample pack of Fondariffic for $6 to see how I like it. icon_cool.gif

cakegirl1973 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegirl1973 Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 12:41am
post #5 of 18

Satin Ice--except for a couple of times that I had a Michael's coupon and I bought Duff's.

joyfullysweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joyfullysweet Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 12:52am
post #6 of 18