Holy Crap I Hope I Can Pull This Off

Decorating By YOUnique_Cakes Updated 16 Nov 2010 , 12:15am by ILoveDaffodils

YOUnique_Cakes Posted 3 Nov 2010 , 1:26pm
post #1 of 13

I have never done a carved cake but I'm not gonna turn something down just because I've never done it before. I do however needs some advice or some tips. I am making a carved cake for 150 people....yep 150. It's not a real hard design but it's gonna be tall. It's gonna be a burlap potato bag with potato's on the top and some spilling out on the cake board. It's for a potato farmers party. I just need advice on the height of the cake. This is gonna be tall and I use WASC cakes. I know my supports for each layer is vital but any other tips will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!! icon_smile.gif

12 replies
-K8memphis Posted 3 Nov 2010 , 1:40pm
post #2 of 13

150 ain't that many. You'll be fine.

I'd use a piece of foam in the base under the board so I can sink some dowel down into the foam so it has stability to not topple over.

It sounds awesome. Making potatoes & burlap too cool. Fun.

Oh, use a little cocoa powder to dust around for the potatoeyness factor.

Maybe 16 inches tall--a four tier 12x6 give or take--that would literally be 180 wilton wedding size servings so that gives you 30 servings of leeway. Leeway to round off corners and then add a few servings disguised as spuds.

I can't wait to see it.

-K8memphis Posted 3 Nov 2010 , 1:42pm
post #3 of 13

I mean you could just bake off some ovals & stack 'er up--make the burlap look rolled down a bit.

This sounds like so much fun.

tiptop57 Posted 3 Nov 2010 , 1:51pm
post #4 of 13

You can do it!

If you follow Buddy from the (Cake Boss television show) the actual carving is smaller when you put it on a "sheet" cake and allows for "fallen" potatoes.......giving another layer to the design.