Use Tax

Business By kristanashley Updated 1 Nov 2010 , 2:14pm by -K8memphis

kristanashley Posted 30 Oct 2010 , 2:32pm
post #1 of 14

What do yall charge use tax on? I'm brand new at this. For instance, I just purchased the mat, and some cake dummies online. If I claim them as business expenses, do I have to report and pay use tax for them? Or do you only pay use tax on things that are going home with the customer... i.e. flavored oils or cake supports, etc. bought online?

13 replies
indydebi Posted 31 Oct 2010 , 12:20am
post #2 of 14

I'm happy to be corrected if I'm wrong, but I believe the correct term is "personal" use tax. Anything I would pull from my inventory for personal use was the same as me buying the item from myself. I was my customer and my purchase was subject to the same sales tax as any other customer.

This is how I worked it and my accountant never corrected me.

-K8memphis Posted 31 Oct 2010 , 1:18am
post #3 of 14

Use tax is levied to pay tax on items purchased outside your home state for use within the state. For example, our point of sale computer system was purchased in Texas for use in Tennessee. We paid TN sales tax on it.

That's one definition of it anyhow--it gets real confusing real fast so the best idea is call your local tax office they'll explain it to you.

gingerbreadtogo Posted 31 Oct 2010 , 1:51am
post #4 of 14

One of the big use tax issues, is the stuff we buy online in other states and do not pay our local sales tax on it. In CA they are just starting to crack down on trying to collect use tax from business and individuals. As a business if you're not buying wholesale, you need to pay local sales tax even if you're purchasing online and out of state. Local and state govt want all their money....

kristanashley Posted 31 Oct 2010 , 2:29am
post #5 of 14