Sylvia Weinstock Classic Yellow Cake/scratch Baking Question

Baking By janebrophy Updated 29 Oct 2010 , 5:10pm by sweetpea223

janebrophy Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 12:00pm
post #1 of 9

I just found this recipe. I made the newer version, with the cup of milk. I loved the cake. I'm still new to scratch baking cakes, so maybe it's just me, but I found the recipe made two 8 x 2" rounds. I have been using box mixes, and I find it hard to get used to how scratch cakes don't rise....I would normally bake a box mix and then trim and torte, but with scratch I find I'm baking each individual layer.....so instead of baking 2 rounds I bake 4. Also, I normally end up with 4 layers of cake, 3 layers of filling in each finished cake. With this one, although I was using layers of the same height, I found that 3 was enough??? I'm stumped. icon_smile.gif I love the taste of scratch and will eventually be scratch only, but am finding the switch harder than I thought! LOL Is it just me? Any advice???

8 replies
sweetpea223 Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 12:12pm
post #2 of 9

just wondering...normally a scratch recipe would say how many pans to prepare...and it's usually (2) 9" pans...but if you're going to reduce the size of the pans, of course your batter will yield more. Most recipes are for 9x2 pans or they can fit in a 9x13 unless otherwise indicated.

Hope this helps...

traci_doodle Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 12:19pm
post #3 of 9

Are you saying that you have to double the recipe to get the same amount of cake as a box mix?

sweetpea223 Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 12:40pm
post #4 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by traci_doodle

Are you saying that you have to double the recipe to get the same amount of cake as a box mix?