Cake Pricing

Decorating By borerunner42 Updated 1 Nov 2010 , 4:08pm by Crazboutcakes

borerunner42 Posted 28 Oct 2010 , 8:32pm
post #1 of 12

Hello,
I am very new to the cake business & I have been researching prices for cakes & how much to charge my customers. At this point, i am starting at $40 for a 2 or 3 layer, 6 inch square or round (with basic BC decorations)& am going up from there. 8"=$45, 9"=$50 & so on. I make all my cakes from scratch, use only all natural ingredients & live in an upper middle class area. I feel like it sounds high, but also that it takes a lot of time to shop for ingredients & supplies, bake, decorate & clean up for a cake. I am wondering for a 1/2 sheet too (12"x18") starting at $60. When it takes me hours to do all this, (i am still quite slow) i feel like i'm not charging enough-or at least this should be a fair price. Any comments??? I would LOVE feedback & suggestions!!

11 replies
AmysCakesNCandies Posted 1 Nov 2010 , 12:29am
post #2 of 12

I would say you are a little high, but not super crazy. Its a fine line to walk especially when you are just starting out and have not yet built a reputation. High end bakeries here get those prices easily, but they have a strong reputation already that alloes them to comand those prices. I am a home baker and therefor have les overhead and I feel my prices should reflect that. For a 6" dessert cake I charge $15 ($25 decorated) and 8" dessert is $20 ($30 decorated) But in reality I do not sell alot of theese types of cakes since my focus is on wedding cakes and custom 2D & 3D carved designs, and those prices are considerably higher. I would suggest that you take a step back and view your product quality objectively and ask yourself if you would pay those prices, if the answer is no then you should adjust down.

DeezTreatz Posted 1 Nov 2010 , 1:04am
post #3 of 12