Advertising...what Works? What Doesn't?

Business By Stephy42088 Updated 29 Oct 2010 , 11:01pm by costumeczar

Stephy42088 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Stephy42088 Posted 27 Oct 2010 , 4:12pm
post #1 of 18

Hey all! I'm still pretty new to all of this but have learned so much with the help of all the wonderful CCers and the great resources on this site! Right now I do feel like I'm at a little bit of a turning point in my business. Although, I have a decent local following and a handful of people know my work I really feel like I need to get more exposure in order to get more business.
If you advertise your business what have you found that has worked or hasn't worked? I'm currently looking in to advertising in a local magazine where I would split the ad with another business and then we could also pay the publisher is gift certificates and such(which is a great deal!) but I wasn't sure of other sorts of advertising methods you all have found successful.
I'm also out of my home right now (its legal in iowa) and don't have a huge capacity but would definitely like to increase my demand to the point where it would justify getting a physical location.
Any ideas? suggestions??
Thanks! icon_smile.gif

17 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 27 Oct 2010 , 4:44pm
post #2 of 18

I can share that a thread discussion on Wedding Wire revealed that most wedding vendors find newspaper ads a total waste of money. They found magz ads were much better if the magz was targeted to brides. Radio ads were a hit or miss, depending on the area.

Websites are a must in this day and age. there's a few threads in here about optimization which may be helpful to you. I had my website listed on 21 different wedding sites (the knot, brides.com, etc.) I only paid for 2 of them.