Bride Requested Rum Or Whiskey Flavored Cake? Help!!

Baking By jo3d33 Updated 2 Nov 2010 , 3:17am by -K8memphis

jo3d33 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jo3d33 Posted 27 Oct 2010 , 2:46pm
post #1 of 6

So I am fairly new to this baking/decorating stuff. I recently had a bride ask me if I could do a whiskey or rum flavored cake. I was wondering if anyone had a good recipe they would like to share? I looked before I posted this and could not find any. I was also wondering if I just did a vanilla WASC cake and used rum for the liquid if that would work? Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for all your help!

5 replies
loves2bake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loves2bake Posted 2 Nov 2010 , 2:53am
post #2 of 6

I made a pineapple flavored wedding cake once; the bride wanted rum flavored icing which sounded goods to me at the time. the bride never had a chance to get me the bottle of rum so I used rum extract instead...BIG mistake! thumbsdown.gif It was awful. Talk to the bride, tell her that the alcohol will be cooked out and only the flavor will be left. Suggest adding it to your frosting instead as a compliment to the cake, not the cake itself for the guests who don't care for that flavor. Then EXperiment beforehand!!! Do NOT do this cake without trying it yourself first! You don't want a disaster on her wedding day icon_redface.gif HTH

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 2 Nov 2010 , 3:03am
post #3 of 6

Bacardi has the killerest rum cake ever. It's google-able I'm sure. They have a yellow and a chocolate. They use box mix but if you want scratch just insert your own favorite recipe if you want.

I would use a simple syrup splash applied to your baked cake. It's equal parts water and sugar cooked to where the sugar melts. Then carefully add the rum--to taste. Maybe like two parts simple syrup to one part rum and brush onto the cake. I squirt it on with a squirt bottle.

I love rum cake!