Silicone Molds And Royal Icing

Decorating By MariaK38 Updated 28 Feb 2013 , 6:59pm by Vampire

MariaK38 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MariaK38 Posted 26 Oct 2010 , 1:15pm
post #1 of 14

Hi! I tried searching this topic but couldn't find much.
I'd like to make some molded flowers, etc. out of royal icing. I'm not very good at piping them. I usually use chocolate, but I need a way to do them for hot weather... so I thought... royal! I know you can't use the chocolate molds for these, but I saw online that you could use silicone molds for royal icing. I was very surprised! I couldn't find any tips, however.
Has anyone done this? Any tips? How long do they take to dry, on average?

Thanks!
Maria

13 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 26 Oct 2010 , 1:31pm
post #2 of 14

I'd think that would work best for pieces that were one solid shape, with not a lot of petals or little pieces that stick out. Like a rose as opposed to a daisy, know what I mean? Or the molds would have to be pretty shallow...

I can't imagine that royal icing would come out of a mold unless it dried fora good long time, maybe a few days. I'd be too scared to try to remove it from the mold.

Would solid chocolate not work? I can see chocolate clay being too soft, but I'd think that unless it was 100 degrees solid pieces of chcoolate would work fine.

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 26 Oct 2010 , 1:37pm
post #3 of 14

I would also think unless the mold was shallow, the royal would not get dry in the middle.

I agree that white chocolate would work fine! And you can store in the fridge until use. Just handle with gloves to avoid fingerprinting and stuff.

all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 26 Oct 2010 , 1:46pm
post #4 of 14