The Great Gumpaste Debate

Decorating By Scarlets-Cakes Updated 25 Oct 2010 , 7:12pm by KoryAK

Scarlets-Cakes  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Scarlets-Cakes Posted 25 Oct 2010 , 2:22pm
post #1 of 8

I'm kind of new to the cake decorating world, and self taught, to boot. So I'm wondering what everyone thinks of the best way to do gumpaste...

1. Prepackaged, ready-to-use
2. Powder, needing water only
3. Made from scratch

I'm interested in your opinion on:

1. Cost
2. Ease of use
3. Quality

Thank you, wonderful CCer's. You are so full of knowledge and I, for one, am very grateful for your willingness to share it.

7 replies
 DianeLM  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DianeLM Posted 25 Oct 2010 , 3:38pm
post #2 of 8

I've used all three and, honestly, I think they are all decent methods.

The least expensive would be the homemade. I love Nicholas Lodge's recipe. I was a little freaked out about using it during the salmonella/egg scare, but I'm over that now. icon_smile.gif

I really like Wilton's gumpaste. It stays pliable for a long time. Sometimes a little too long! I usually buy it with a 40% or 50% off coupon, so it would also rate up there with the most economical.

Obviously, the prepackaged is the fastest with the least labor and mess.

I pretty much stopped using the powder when I could buy the gumpaste already made.

poomagoo  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poomagoo Posted 25 Oct 2010 , 4:08pm
post #3 of 8

I prefer to make my own but whenever I need some at short notice and don't have time, I use Wiltons (with a coupon from michaels as its just too expensive otherwise). Its not bad stuff really and I've found that it lasts for ages if you seal it properly. Used to use a different brand before and found it would dry out in the packet before I'd used it all thumbsdown.gif. Never tried the powdered stuff.

I guess I'd recommend making your own but its worth trying out wiltons first so you know what kind of consistency it should be.