4 Inch Tall , Just Cant Get Them!

Decorating By sweetnessx3 Updated 17 Mar 2012 , 1:53am by Bridgette1129

sweetnessx3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetnessx3 Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 5:50pm
post #1 of 16

Ive wanted to try the SPS system but can not get perfect 4 inch cakes ! My cake mix never seems to get 2 inches so I always add just enough icing to make it shhhh .... when I get them layered they will eather be 3 1/2 or over 4 in grrr.... how do I get my cakes 4 in tall ? Do they have to be perfect height to use the sps ? Any help is very appreciated icon_smile.gif

15 replies
ljslight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ljslight Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 5:54pm
post #2 of 16

I was wondering the same thing! I ordered a set for a wedding in 2 weeks and I am really worried as I have never used them before!

millermom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
millermom Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 6:21pm
post #3 of 16

I make extra batter if I need to, and then fill the pans a little extra full. The left-over batter I use to make small 4" to have on hand for birthdays, etc., or for cake balls.

I make sure that my cakes rise up slightly higher than the pan, then "smash" them with a cookie sheet as soon as they come out of the oven and then cut them off to the level of the top of the pan.

I still, occasionally, have to use icing to get 4", but not so much that it becomes a problem.

nonilm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nonilm Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 6:33pm
post #4 of 16

If you only have two inch pans you can use a parchment collar around the pans so you can add more batter. I have done this before and it works fine. Also eliminates the possibility of your batter overflowing while baking (I have had that happen before icon_redface.gif ).

cakesbycathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbycathy Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 6:39pm
post #5 of 16