How Do I Attach Fondant...

Decorating By EvArt Updated 23 Oct 2010 , 6:29am by flipflopsnosocks

EvArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EvArt Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 2:13pm
post #1 of 10

I am self taught as many I see on the site, and I know this is one of those little tweaks you may learn in cake decorating classes...

How do I attach/lay fondant onto a cake?
I've tried laying it onto a frosted cake........But the frosting was kind of mushy under the fondant and it didn't give me a nice smooth surface.
I've tried laying it onto just a crumb coated cake, but I don't think that's enough frosting!
I've laid it on a nicely crusted frosted cake and dampened the frosting with a brush and water.....That leaves a drippy mess at the base of your cake. Yuck!

Any tips would be appreciated!
Thank you

9 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 7:23pm
post #2 of 10

Hi there, I use buttercream under fondant and use a thin layer of it. Maybe a little bit thicker than a crumbcoat. And don't brush the buttercream with water. The wetness of the buttercream is more than enough to stick the fondant. If you go to Youtube, there are loads of videos on this. And I also highly recommend Sugarshack's fondant dvd, which I learnt lots from it.

HTH! icon_smile.gif

MissFluff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissFluff Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 7:26pm
post #3 of 10

I know what you mean! icon_surprised.gif I am trying to teach myself how to make fondant cakes. My work schedule is almost impossible for me to work with so attending a cake class at the moment isn't an option. icon_cry.gif

I will be watching this thread with interest. They always make it look so easy on the youtube videos, but I guess if you already know what you are doing then it is easy! icon_biggrin.gif

Mikail Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mikail Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 7:41pm
post #4 of 10