Renting Commercial Kitchen - Is This A Good Deal?

Business By annathefoodie Updated 23 Oct 2010 , 4:37am by annathefoodie

annathefoodie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
annathefoodie Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 7:11pm
post #1 of 9

I am looking into renting a commercial kitchen at a local church - the rate they are looking at currently (not in stone yet) is $100.00 for an 8 hour day, which would be $12.50 an hour. I have not been able to find any other kitchen in the area that is for rent on an hourly basis. This seems like a reasonable rate to me, but I am just getting started and have nothing to compare it to.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

8 replies
gingerbreadtogo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gingerbreadtogo Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 8:22pm
post #2 of 9

Sounds like a great deal to me..But I'm in CA..so I'm not sure what the going rate would be there.

gingerbreadtogo Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 8:23pm
post #3 of 9

oops! I submitted twice

homebasedbaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
homebasedbaking Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 11:42pm
post #4 of 9

Yes, that is a very good deal. You want to stay around $15.00 or $20.00 per hour and if you can get under $15.00 that is wonderful. Just make sure any special fees or costs are included and use the following link to download the Incubator / Commercial Kitchen Rental Questionnaire
http://homebasedbaking.com/peek-inside

I just received info on a new shared use kitchen in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. Here is the link if you want to take their survey and get on their mailing list. Opening soon.
http://therandomkitchen.com/

Plus: