Help!! Please :)

Decorating By Caitlinmarie Updated 21 Oct 2010 , 8:01pm by Caitlinmarie

Caitlinmarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caitlinmarie Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 2:46pm
post #1 of 13

ok these questions may seem kind of dumb but im a newbie and i need help icon_smile.gif

ok so im making my first 2 tier cake covered in fondant for my daughters christening. are the boxed cake mixes dense enough for the fondant on top and being tiered?? how many dowels am i supposed to put in the bottom tier? am i supposed to put some in the top tier?? i would appreciate ANY help thanks guys

Caitlin

12 replies
Win Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Win Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 2:57pm
post #2 of 13

Welcome to Cake Central!

There is never a stupid question...

You can make a boxed cake more dense if you are worried about supporting the weight of fondant; however, it is not always necessary to do so. Chocolate is always a denser cake, butter recipes as well as a good vanilla. There are many, many recipes in the recipe section here on Cake Central that are classified as "doctored" or "extender recipes." Take time to look through some of those for possibilities. A great "go to" recipe that can be changed up is White Almond Sour Cream (WASC.) There is an entire thread on the many variations of that particular cake. I'll try to locate it and post it for you.

As to stacking. It is a good rule of thumb to place the pan or the cake board of the smaller cake on top of the larger cake in order to mark the circumference of that tier. Wilton has a good illustration here:
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/tiered-cakes/stacked-tiered-cake-construction.cfm

As does Edna on YouTube(Tonedna on CC):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NvaCSW78ybc&feature=related

Hope that gets you started on the right path.

Happy Caking!

GL79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GL79 Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 3:01pm
post #3 of 13

Hi Caitlin,