How Much Gumpaste For 100 Call Lilies?

Lounge By lovenintheoven Updated 24 Oct 2010 , 11:05am by cabecakes

lovenintheoven Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 12:59am
post #1 of 13

How much gumpaste would it take to make 100 call lilies from 4 inch heart cutters? Anyone have a good guess?

12 replies
artscallion Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 1:13am
post #2 of 13

Really depends on how thickly you'll roll it. The difference between paper thin and almost paper thin can double the amount you'll use. And over 100 flowers, that adds up. Lilies are generally rolled a little thicker than most flowers. But I've seen them anywhere from 1/16" (about what I do) to more than 1/8" thick. That's a big difference in the amount of dough needed for 100 lilies.

Isacake Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 1:31am
post #3 of 13

Sorry for being curious but for what kind of gigantic cake do you need 100 calla lillies? LOL! I honestly don't have any idea on how much gumpaste you would need. I'm still learning how to make flowers, I have discover that they are the hardest and longest thing to do! Good luck with your project.

artscallion Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 1:37am
post #4 of 13

Or make just one the way you make them, weigh it on your digital food scale, then multiply times 100. Many gumpaste recipes tell you how many pounds a batch will weigh.

lovenintheoven Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 2:23pm
post #5 of 13

Artscallion, thanks! Great idea! I SO love my scale icon_biggrin.gif. And Isacake...it is ENORMOUS!! My larest cake yet, 600 guests!

TabbieCakes Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 2:37pm
post #6 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by artscallion

Or make just one the way you make them, weigh it on your digital food scale, then multiply times 100. Many gumpaste recipes tell you how many pounds a batch will weigh.

What an AWESOME idea! That goes under the "Now WHY didn't I think of that file!!!!!" icon_biggrin.gif

And good luck to the OP. WOW! 600 people. You are very brave icon_smile.gif

leah_s Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 2:39pm
post #7 of 13