Gingerbread Houses. How Much Time?

Baking By ColeAlayne Updated 21 Nov 2010 , 5:15am by emmy23

ColeAlayne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ColeAlayne Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 7:28pm
post #1 of 16

I was approached by a member of the recreation department to see if I was interested in baking and assembling 15 gingerbread houses for a program this December. They can be cookie-cutter simple as it is a family project for people to come and decorate. I have never done a gingerbread house before. Can anyone advise me on how many hours it would take to bake and assemble them?

15 replies
gingerbreadtogo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gingerbreadtogo Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 2:42am
post #2 of 16

I actually do exactly that (make houses for people to decorate) I just baked 45 houses in 4 hours.. It's really not that bad if you have a big enough mixer and oven.(that's at my rented kitchen) . my home recipe makes 5 houses so that would be 3x the recipe, mix and set in fridge for an hour or so then roll out/cut and bake. From beginning mix to end of bake should just be a few hours, depending on how much you can roll out and bake at a time. ( I do use simple cookie cutter version) I let them sit a day or 2..to dry out a little. Then Royal icing together 15 houses could be done in an hour ( I do a couple hundred this time of yr, so I can glue them pretty quickly). It's really not that hard to do..the tricky part is getting the royal icing thick enough so it holds the pieces together, I don't use any supports- I just royal ice and stick together.

Good Luck.

ColeAlayne Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 1:25am
post #3 of 16

Thanks gingerbreadtogo! Do you use Antonia74's RI recipe from this site? I have a batch of it mixed up right now and it is pretty thick.

Also, is you gingerbread recipe posted on CC?

jules5000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jules5000 Posted 22 Oct 2010 , 1:49am
post #4 of 16