How Do You Put Icing On Cake Without The Crumbs?

Decorating By Cakelove71 Updated 24 Oct 2010 , 3:18am by Cakelove71

Cakelove71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakelove71 Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 3:24pm
post #1 of 10

Ok, I know it may be answered somewhere in here but I am very new to decorating and I am always getting crumbs in my icing icon_cry.gif how do you get the icing so smooth without crumbs in it?

9 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 4:09pm
post #2 of 10

Well it helps if you do what is called a crumbcoat first.By this you roughly cover the entire cake with a thin coat of icing first and let it set up..Then go over it with a thicker final layer and smooth...Also some cake recipes are more crumby than others so you may consider looking at your recipe you are using as well..

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 5:25pm
post #3 of 10

You put a lot of BC on, spread it without lifting your knife or letting it directly touch the cake, and scrape off the excess. If you remove too much and the cake shows through, add more to that area and scrape again.

mareg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mareg Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 5:46pm
post #4 of 10

Always crumb coat.

AmysCakesNCandies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmysCakesNCandies Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 5:49pm
post #5 of 10

I do it one of two ways- both addressed here alrady.

I either crumb coat- especially chocolate cakes- I find them to be the most problematic crumbers!
or I use the smooth side of a Jumbo cake icing tip (I've also heard it called an eclair tip)- Wilton #789. The tip allows you to get a thick layer of icing on the cake without moving icing accross the cake (which causes the crumbs). Then you just smooth out the ridges with your spatula. I also use the icing tip to get a layer of icing on shaped & scultpted cakes that can be more difficult to navigate with a spatula.