Sick And Stressed :(

Lounge By tsal Updated 21 Oct 2010 , 1:03am by bakingpw

tsal Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 10:56am
post #1 of 5

I love making cakes (I'm a hobbyist considering going into business when my kids are a little older). I have 3 cakes lined up in the next few weeks. I was supposed to have a cake for a bridal shower due Sunday, but that was postponed due to a death in the groom's family. I wouldn't have been able to pull it off if it were not cancelled because I'm totally sick with a terrible cold (congestion, headache, fever etc) and weak as a kitten.

My son's second birthday party is next weekend. It started out as a family party, but now we have over 30 people coming and I'm unable to even start the appliqué work for the Blue's Clues cake I'm planning. Even if I do miraculously feel better later today, I don't believe in handling food while sick, so the earliest I can start this 3-tier cake is Friday *if* I'm feeling better and I'll still wear a mask and gloves. Oh, and did I mention that I'm preparing all the food for the party?

A good friend of mine is having a huge party and I promised to help her make some fondant accents for cupcakes but I'm not sure when I'll fit that in. She's a total muggle so without me she's lost.

On top of that, I'm a teacher's assistant at 2 universities and I have a gazillion midterms to grade for tomorrow that I have yet to start due to the pounding headaches i've had with this virus. My soon-to-be 2-yr old is sick with Croup (I think he got me sick), and really needs me all the time (when you're sick you want your mama!). I have a babysitter coming today so I can work on the exams and hopefully finish them by tonight.

Sorry for the rant. I know you all understand cake stress (and stress in general)!

4 replies
Kiddiekakes Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 12:11pm
post #2 of 5

Yes I do...Hope you feel better soon and are able to get all these things done!!

bakingpw Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 2:53pm
post #3 of 5