Wilton Romantic Cake Help

Decorating By Jamie-Leigh Updated 24 Oct 2010 , 7:59pm by manahigh

Jamie-Leigh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jamie-Leigh Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 8:37am
post #1 of 8

So I bought the Wilton Romantic cake set to make a birthday cake for my daughter, but I thought I should try it out before the time came to make the cake to make sure I could do it.

I've only decorated a handful of cakes, and everything I've done so far is self taught, so don't be too harsh on me. icon_redface.gif

The cake turned out nice, and the buttercream smoother than I could have hoped for, but I couldn't get the towers to stay up in the cake. I followed the directions and attached dowel rods, but it just didn't turn out and the towers kept falling off no matter what I did.

SO, I've seen a lot of cakes made with this set in the gallery, and I was hoping somebody could tell me how they fixed this problem with their cake?

7 replies
brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 9:02am
post #2 of 8

A lot of people glue the towers with chocolate or royal icing.
xx

Jamie-Leigh Posted 23 Oct 2010 , 7:39pm
post #3 of 8

Well, I tried gluing them with the candy melts, but it still didn't work.

brincess_b Posted 24 Oct 2010 , 8:26am
post #4 of 8

a lot of people also dont like this kit for this exact reason! some times if its possible, its best not to pre-assemble the cake, put the towers on when its in its final position.
xx

7yyrt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
7yyrt Posted 24 Oct 2010 , 5:49pm
post #5 of 8

It isn't you, it's the frigging castle set. The towers are just too tall and thin.

Jamie-Leigh Posted 24 Oct 2010 , 6:26pm
post #6 of 8

Thanks guys. I'll try waiting to put the towers on.

Does anyone have other suggestions for towers?

brincess_b Posted 24 Oct 2010 , 7:36pm
post #7 of 8

cardboard tubes covered in fondant or gumpaste, mini swiss rolls, tubes made from gumpaste or pastilage. all work really well!
xx